Fight To Hold On….

There is never a dull moment on the Christian journey. There are  frequent twists and turns that we as Christians encounter within ourselves. Sometimes it can feel like we’re walking with our knees knocking, while other times we can feel like we’re standing sturdy like trees. This little fact just makes me know that complacency is not for the Christian. An upset to the game plan can happen in a heartbeat. When events in our surroundings are lining up just right and all seems well in our personal lives; we must be on guard. During this time we need to immerse ourselves in the word of God. We must crawl and scratch our way toward him. Though it is not our intent, this is usually the time that we allow our hands to slip away from His.

Our hands slip away by the internet, the children, the spouse, the job, the extended family, the friends, the enemies, the media,  the worthy causes, etc. It’s a little bit here, then a little bit there. Before we know it we have totally let go of the Father’s hand. Personally, I hate this place. I would love to stay in heavenly bliss with the Father at all times. The beauty of constant and tight communion would be ideal, but it is not the reality.  The fall of man and Jesus’ ascension on earth to die for our sins represents the tug of war between the carnal and the spiritual sides of us. As much as I would love to keep my grip of the Father, my reality can best be described in what Paul has to say in Romans 7:14-24.

On a personal note, things for me now are “decent”. To be frank that scares me. It scares me because this “decent order” in my life has not been good for me spiritually in the past. It hasn’t been good because I did not know how to walk in it. So with that said, I am running to the Father. I am reminded of Jacob’s struggle with the angel in Genesis 32:24-29. In the midst of the struggle he would not give up the fight. He stated that he would not let go until he received his blessing. That scripture is very powerful in navigating through the waters of complacency on the Christian journey.  In the struggle we must fight to hold on.

Leave a Reply

